How to replace a failing disk in a Raid 1 array?

A couple of years ago I set up a Raid 1 array using two identical ‘Seagate Barracuda - 1 TB internal hard drive ST1000DM010’ hard drives in an ORICO 9528RU3 enclosure.

It sounds like one of the drives is about to fail and I intend to preempt it and replace it with another one.

My questions are:

1. How close does the new drive have to be to the current one?

2. How can I tell which of the two drives is actually failing?

3. How one earth do I actually do it, I thought it would be a matter of slipping the failing drive out and sliding the new one in then rebooting, but apparently not. The more I read online the more confused I get.

I have basic computer knowledge (about enough to, well, set up a RAID 1 array).

Thanks in advance! :slight_smile:

How did you set the array up in the first place? Whatever interface that was, there should be an option to mark a disk as failed (if it hasn’t died already) so the array stops using it, then, after replacement, to enable the use of the new disk, after which the array should re-build itself automatically. You should not have to re-boot, assuming you can hot-swap disks into and out of your system while it is running.

As for size, the replacement disk should be at least as big as the other disk in the mirror (might as well get the same sized disk).

I can’t remember exactly how it was set up, I hope I kept the original documentation! (I usually do)

Thanks DPRK :slight_smile:

Can you be more explicit about the symptoms? Is it literally making noise? Is it failing SMART tests? Does it have bad sectors?

I forgot to add: to determine which disk is failing (if you can’t tell based on the loud grinding noises :slight_smile: try reading the S.M.A.R.T. status for each to see which one reports a bunch of errors.