How well can an adult learn a foreign language?

I took four years of German in high school. I was decent at it, but wasn’t as committed as I could have been and in the near-decade since I graduated, I’ve forgotten most of the language.

This fall, I’m starting a foreign language certificate program in German and I want to be good. GOOD.

But I fear I’m too old. That my brain won’t let me process a new language. So I was hoping that there were a few Dopers out there that could reassure me with stories about becoming late-in-life polyglots.

I’ve tried and failed several times.

But what I’ve heard is that if you start after the age of seven, you will always speak the language with an accent.

I also think that some people have a gift for it. I once knew a guy that was fluent in 31 languages, and could sort of speak 100 more. To me, that’s just… What’s the word I’m looking for?

How old is too old?

I’m 29 and have learned how to speak Bulgarian in the last year and a half. It’s not perfect, and I do have an accent*, but it’s fluent enough that pretty much every time I have a conversation with a stranger they ooh and ahh over my mad skillz. (Not a lot of foreigners bother to learn their crazy language.)

I’m not any kind of language genius, either, although I think I have a pretty good ear.

*One of the highlights of my Bulgarian-speaking career was when someone asked me if I was Macedonian. Bulgarian and Macedonian are basically the same language with different accents. I was *sooo * tickled!