How would you briefly describe what "good writing" is?

I want to see how much consensus there is on the idea of what good writing is. Maybe there’s a lot of variance, maybe there isn’t.

Suppose you had to briefly describe what “good writing” is. What would you say?

Not sure whether you’re referring to fiction or non-fiction, but my answer applies more to non-fiction.

When I worked as a writing tutor at my college, I explained it like this: Bad writing occurs when readers are struggling to figure out what you’re trying to say. Good writing occurs when readers know exactly what you’re saying, but don’t really care. Great writing occurs when readers know exactly what you’re saying, and you’ve inspired them enough to care about what you’re saying.

Good writing is the clear expression of an interesting thought using the right words, and no more.

Who wants to know, and why?

The question can’t be answered meaningfully, unless you want the kind of answers you’ve got above, which, however nice they may sound, are useless to the person who’s struggling to produce “good” writing.

Good writing is accurate communication that makes the reader want to know more. I think that works for fiction and non-fiction.

This.

Second this.

Good writing is, well… you know how when you’re sitting there struggling to come up with a good idea and it’s almost but not quite staring at you in the face but it’s so easy to be, in fact it’s what you’d prefer to be, distracted, and then you look for any excuse…

Well, it’s not like that.