Huh? (Legal question)

I’m trying to get a contract in place between my company and a contractor. While there are other issues, which we both understand, there is a minor one standing in the way. Their standard Master Agreement contains the following provision:

Governing Law. This License will be governed by and construed in accordance with the internal laws, and not the law of conflicts, of the State of Texas.

(italics are mine)

What the heck does this mean? My boss doesn’t know, I don’t know and their representatives with whom I’m dealing don’t know. We’ve got no problem with identifying the State of Texas as the governing jurisdiction; we like Texas judges, generally. But the internal laws v. law of conflicts thing has engendered head scratching. Anybody?

Since it’s Texas, my guess is that the law of conflicts has to do with six-shooters on Main Street at High Noon, winner take all.

That we can handle ;), but I’d still like to verify the meaning.

I’m no lawyer, but my WAG is that Texas still has some vestiges of its former status as an independent country in its constitution. Perhaps the “law of conflicts” would cover wartime (such as the period in which the original Texas consitituion was drafted?) and would have different policies than peace-time law. (For example, maybe habeas corpus would be suspeneded.)

But I’m not even a Texan, so this may well be just a shot in the dark.

I tried some web searches, but, though I’ve gotten some hits at AltaVista for ‘+Texas +“law of conflicts”’, I can’t translate the legal gobbledygook into anything I can comprehend. The “conflict of laws” seems to be a field of legal study involving situations in which laws contradict each other, but I’m not sure if that is the same thing as “law of conflicts.”

I guess our lawyers are all in court this morning…