I am now a tool of The Man

Hey there all. As you may or may not know I am a university student. I am also not very well-off financially, so I have to work very hard and also get student loans and scholarships. This summer I was lucky enough to be selected for a couple of sizeable scholarships.
Well, today I went down to the university for a publicity shoot. Basically, the organization that I got one of the scholarships from wants some shots of me and their president for their national and local magazines. Fair enough, just make sure you get the name right on the check. Well, I’m being a little harsh now. I was, and am, very grateful to them, as I would not have been able to attend otherwise.
Well, anyway, I got down there and met up with the publicist. She was very nice, telling me how glad she was that I could make it. Then she asked if I would like to see my quote in the news release. I thought that maybe she had taken something from my thank-you letter. But then I looked at the press release and found, basically:

“The reason I applied,” said University studen silent_rob, “Is because of the association’s support of fine arts and leadership roles in the community.”

Hmmm, I thought, that would have been a good thing for to have said. It’s just too bad that I didn’t say it. But I, like the obediant lap dog I am, said, “Yeah, that’s fine.” After all, I need the money. Then, the president got there, made some of the obligatory chit-chat, smiled for the “congratulations” pictures, and the publicist complemented me on my smile. “Why, thank you,” I said, with a pleasing tone. Then they said how if I ever needed anything, anything at all, make sure to give them a call. Then the Prez invited me to a luncheon. Just a little informal thing, to meet some of the members. I said, why thank you, I’d just have to check my shhhchedule, and I’d get back to him. He said, no need, they’ll be in touch with me.