I don't understand hyphens

Seriously. I was taught (in the pre-computer era) Oxford hyphen usage: you use one followed by a space when it’s punctuation, and you use one without spaces in hyphenated words. Latterly, I have come to understand that there are emdashes and all sorts of other types of hyphen that I have little or no knowledge of the usage of (much less how you make one with a keyboard.)

I suppose I’m suppose to have an actual question here, so what types exist and what are they for?

I think—though I’m sure the experts will soon be chiming in—that there has always been a distinction between the hyphen, the en-dash, and the em-dash (and perhaps the minus sign) in printing/typesetting, but in the days of typewriters, you had to use the “hyphen” character for all three of these things. Nowadays you can distinguish among these on a computer.

For example, in the previous sentence, I used em-dashes to set off “though I’m sure the experts will soon be chiming in.” On a typewriter, I would have used a double hyphen–like this–or maybe a spaced hyphen - like this - for this purpose.

I think—but again, correct me if I’m wrong—that a hyphen proper only occurs within a word (a hyphenated word, or a long word broken up at the end of a line of text).

There are three variants, hyphens, en-dashes, and em-dashes. A manual of style will give “rules” for their use, but remember that style is important only in a formal final product. What you do when typing your manuscript or communicating can be very different and totally idiosyncratic. In the olden days, a an editor would mark up a manuscript to indicate what went into the final typeset copy.

There are zillions of possible uses for them, so I’m going to pick out a few of the most important, as give in the Chicago Manual of Style, 13th ed.

hyphen
used in compound words: court-martial; clearing-house

used to break words at the end of lines in justified text:

But writers who find themselves under-