I hate Blues Traveler.....

Maybe this only pisses me off, but I was watching the top 100 female’s in rock the other night. They were talking about Patsy Cline and that big guy from Blues Trav. said, “She was country, but she knew the blues”. Is he implying that country performers don’t know the blues. Hasn’t he ever heard Jimmie Rodgers or Hank Williams. :mad: These guys WERE white blues men. I’m not talking about the modern pop country, but real country. What about Dwight Yokum, or Shaver. If anybody doesn’t know the blues it’s Blues Trav, despite thier name they have nothing to do with the blues. What they do know about is long rambling songs that go nowhere and all sound the same.

Another one on the same show that pissed me off was Queen Latifa. Speaking about Aretha Franklin, she said, “She’s been making records from 1968 to 1998…”, now I’m no expert on A.F.'s career but wasn’t she making records in the 50’s?

Why do they get such morons to speak about these perfomers??? :confused:

I diagree with several things in here, but before I get to my disagreein’… how exactly are you defining the blues? What are the blues? What makes someone a blues person?

Ah, it won’t mean a thing in a hundred years.

Shoot, good thing you qualified that dislike. I was going to have to open a can of some booty wippin’ on ya. I do agree though: the things people were saying were pretty lame. I mean, Dionne Warwick kept saying the same thing about every woman they asked her about “Oh she’s got a wonderful instrument…she can really sing” or some such thing.

Lame-o!

This is a very basic definition:

The Blues are a form of American folk music which has its origins w/ African-Americans. Usually it is made up of 12 bars: 4 on the tonic, 2 on the subdominant, 2 more on the tonic, 2 on the dominant, and back to the tonic. Of course there are variations on this but this is the basic layout. Another thing which distinquishes blues is the use of blue notes (flatted 3rd, 5th and 7th).