I Hate Celsius

I know that sentiment about converting wholly to the Metric System runs pretty high around here. I however believe that unless something drastic happens (i.e. country has been taken control of by China) conversion won’t come to pass for a looong time.

However, I am not against the system with the STRONG exception to the Celsius temperature scale. If someone said it’s 30 degrees outside, I would not, could not think it was warm. yet 0 was still cold. I like the fact that Fahrenheit is about twice as sensitive.

Fifty degrees is NOT enough to separate summer from winter for me. I need ALL ninety of them!

If for some strange reason this contry sucessfully converted to Metric, is there any good reason to dump trusty old Fahrenheit.

I’m with you on this one, entirely!

>^,^<
“Cluemobile? You’ve got a pickup…”
OpalCat’s site: http://opalcat.com
The Teeming Millions Homepage: fathom.org/teemingmillions

Personally, I think Fahrenheit and Celsius both suck, and I’m studying to be a physicist. The absolute scale (Kelvin) isn’t much better.

Can’t we come up with a better system? Please? Someone?
– Sylence

“The problem with reality is the lack of background music.” – Anon

Well, I’ve been brought up with Celsius (or Centigrade - they can’t even agree on that!) so I can’t say I share your sentiments specifically.

But I get utterly mixed up with weight measurements. I don’t think any of the million options available are strictly metric, and it totally confoooozes me.

Everyone in America talks in Pounds all the time. I was brought up with both Stone and Kilograms. Neither of which I’m entirely certain of what they are and how it works.

I blame my poor schooling in physics, for want of something else.

“Waheeey! ‘Duck!’ Get it?”
“Errr… No…”
“Duck! Sounds almost exactly like fu-”

I feel I have to stick up for my compatriot Celsius here, as well as taking a few potshots at Fahrenheit.