I have just inherited a goldfish. Now what?

I just inherited a goldfish from the family I work for. I am a nanny and their three year-old recieved it at her pre-school gradutation thingy. They didn’t want it, so I offered to take it, in hopes of giving it a better life than living in a extra vase, which is what it is living in now.

I, however, know absolutely nothing about caring for a goldfish. What type of food should I give it and how often? Pellets or flakes? Should I spring for a full blown tank with filter or will a normal goldfish bowl be okay. How often should I clean the bowl/tank? Pretty much any goldfish advice will be appriciated. Thanks in advance.

Please take this with a minor grain of salt; I’m still a novice, but I’ll give you insight.

I’ve had goldfish for 2 years. I’m not that good at it (dad helps when I’m away at college, he used to have tons of tropical) but I did remember thinking I could get away without a filter.

I have a 10 gallon tank, and the first problem was when we first got the tank, there was nothing in it but water. The fish didn’t move. So we added a pump? that just pushed the water around, plus lots of rocks. Better. Then it was dirty, so we got a filter.

We had one dirty fish. When he passed on after a year or so, the tank instantly got clearer. He was sick though, near the end. Obviously sick.

Food? Hm. It varies. We had one the size of big bertha, so big that when it opened its mouth you could see clear down its thoart. He liked pellets that floated, liking to eat off the top.

The other one likes flakes, and prefers them underground and moving (hence the filter & pump’s handiness). Since they are flakes I just pinch them together and put them underneath the surface.