I have left my wife and children.

There has been a girl*. I’ve been working with her for over three years and whenever I’ve spent time with her (which is relatively rare, I am/was an aircraft captain, she’s a first officer, and I fly with lots of other crew between flights with her) I have felt happy, even though all we have done is chat. We seem to have a connection that I haven’t felt with anyone else including my wife.

So anyway, over the last six months things picked up a little, I invited her out for a bike ride with me and we had fun. She invited me to dinner at her place with her “husband”**. Husband and I got on quite well and are both interested in music. I started going around there regularly to play music with him and to chat, have dinner, and watch TV with both of them. I should probably mention that they live in the town where I work which is several thousand kilometres away from where my wife and I live. When I’m working in this town I’m feeling a bit lonely and appreciate the company they offer.

While this facade of a friendship is going on I realise I’m falling in love with her, and she, as I later found out, was falling in love with me.