I have some ignorance that needs fighting. re: film speed.

Hiya all…

I am a photographer, and I use 400ISO/ASA speed film mostly for my work.

I was thinking about people who make motion pictures and wondered if there was a similar method of rating motion picture film for use in different lighing conditions, like I would use 100 or slower on a bright sunny day and 400 or faster for indoors and cloudy/nighttime work.

Is that the case? Someone once told me that motion picture film is 25 frames per second, but I’m not sure if thats what I was wanting answered…
Thanks in advance!!

Lee

I thought this was film: speed in the sense of “there’s a bomb on the bus”

Sorry, I can’t help with your question.

:slight_smile:

yeah. is a little misleading… I apologise…

Ummm…if I think I understand what you’re asking then, yes, motion picture films do have different ISO ratings. I am a professional still photographer, but I do NOT have motion picture experience. From what I do know, motion pictures are generally shot on film in the 200-320 ISO range. There’s a Kodak 250 daylight-balanced film and a 320 tungsten-balanced film which seems to be among the more popular. AFAIK, 800 ISO is the highest speed generally available for color motion pictures.

Is this what you were asking?

Film speed and frame rate are two different things. Actually the standard rate for 35mm and up cine is 24 frames per second IRRC with 16 and 8mm at different, slower standard rates.