I made $30K of earned income as an executor. Send IRS estimated taxes now? How to lessen my tax hit?

I’ve been serving as the executor of my late mom’s estate for the past 10 years. Things are finally winding down. (Thank goodness!) The last big distributions have gone out to the heirs (including myself). My mom’s will did not mention any executor’s commission, but New York State law allows me to take a fee (based on a defined formula, of course), so before the final distributions were calculated I subtracted my commission from the estate’s total assets and added it to my distribution in a lump sum.

The distribution portion is tax exempt, but the commission, I understand, is not. That gives me a little over $30,000 of unexpected extra income – with no witholdings taken out from it – for the year 2013. This, btw, will almost double my taxable income for the year.

I have two tax concerns, and I hope some informed Dopers can give me a little guidance and advice. I realize you are not my CPA, lawyer, tax preparer or other such agent or representative.

My first concern regards estimated taxes. Should I send the IRS some bucks right now (or before September 15)? If so, how much? Won’t it look fishy that I sent in a bunch of cash at the end of the year, but nothing earlier. Or does this sort of thing happen all the time and they won’t bat an eye? Do I use the quarterly forms I used to use back when I was self-employed?

My second concern regards the overall tax hit I will take because of this extra income. Are there strategies I can use to minimize it? I don’t need to use/spend/access the money so if there are ways to “shelter” it (pardon a poor man for using a rich man’s word), let me hear them!

Lastly, if you have any other words of wisdom regarding aspects of my situation that I have not raised, please do not hesitate to share them.

Thanks all, in advance.

Get out a copy of your 2012 tax return.

Was your taxable income in 2012 less than $150,000?