I might be going to Chicago for a few days this summer... advice?

If you pay attention to our long-standing WWE thread at all, you know that I’m a fan of pro wrestling. In the past few years my interest has expanded past the McDonald’s of wrestling that is the WWE, and I’ve gotten interested in the smaller promotions and in independent wrestling. One of the biggest things happening in indy wrestling this year is that Cody Rhodes, the son of the American Dream Dusty Rhodes, is self-financing and promoting an independent supershow that looks to be the largest non-WWE wrestling show in the US since the collapse of WCW. Yesterday, after months of speculation, he announced the date and the venue - September 1st, the Sears Centre Arena, in Hoffman Estates, IL, which I understand to be on the periphery of Chicago.

I haven’t decided for sure that I’m going yet. I want to find out what ticket rates for the show are and then decide whether I can afford a ticket and the flight and the hotel. If I do go, it’ll probably be for either 2 or 3 nights - fly in, get the hotel, see the show, and fly back the next day.

I know I’m gonna be a substantial distance from the city core, and I’m hoping that I won’t have to rent a car to get around. Ideally I’d like to be able to get from the airport to a hotel in the area of the show by light rail, or bus, or Uber if necessary. Is it feasible to get from O’Hare to Hoffman and back by public transport without it taking all day and/or having to make transfers in sketchy parts of town? What’s Hoffman like in general? The impression that I get is that it’s one of the more gentrified parts of the city. Would I be able to roam a few blocks from my hotel to find a grocery store or a restaurant without having to worry too much?