I must find a new home. And I don't want to.

“Hey, I’m a broke student who hasn’t yet finished her useless degree. I think I’ll go live in one of the most expensive cities in the world for a few months!”

My rental contract expires on the 15th. I’m sort of ambivilant about it: on the one hand, I love the neighborhood I’m living in (Kensington). On the other hand I’m in a double room with a girl I met a few days after arriving in London, and I’ve grown to dislike her. She’s perfectly nice as a person, just a terrible roommate.

So: we’re not renewing our contract. That means I’m trawling Gumtree and Loot.com, looking for someplace A) not an hour away from the office where I work in central London, and B) No more than 110 pounds per week. I’d also like to live with nice people who will not exclusively speak various eastern-European languages to each other thereby leaving me out, and who are not averse to an American (myself).

sigh

I’m not angry about it, but why the hell does London have to be so expensive? Also, why can’t someone just call me up and say, “Hey, I’m a really nice person, I’ve got a nice single room for you, ninety quid a week, no ridiculously huge bond, you can move in on the 15th, and by the way, it’s within walking distance of your office so you’ll save a crapload of time and money getting to and from work?”

Did you give them your phone number? If you didn’t give them your phone number they probably don’t know where to get ahold of you.

I was shocked when I saw ads for houses while I was in London. I’m from the rural midwestern United States. You could buy a mansion in my area for the amount they were asking for a house I wouldn’t even call a “starter home.”

I’ll admit, living out in the sticks has probably spoiled me for cheap land, but I just couldn’t believe it.

Consider renting a houseboat.

That’s a choice in Washington DC, that has been cheaper for some people.