I Need an Electrical Engineer or Master Electrician or Both

Hello everyone
I am new to SDMB, I sent a question to UC that has been bugging me and Dex sent me here, I have refined the question a bit so here goes (Note Ground is electrical Earth is dirt at least in this post)
In electrical theory a three phase system sums to 0V due to phase cancellation at the load end, but in the real world loads are not balanced and lots of voltage goes to Ground, So what happens to it? I have been told that the Earth is an electrical sink and that it returns to the generator via the Earth following transmission lines, but there have to be limits on this, Earth is an insulator and insulators generally are not good conductors so there would be resistance(heat) as to the electrical sink is there a capacitance value for the Earth?( yes I am aware it would be huge) but wouldn’t the eventual discharge be devastating? I know that I am leaving out a bunch of variables, just trying to make a complicated question simple. Any takers? Thank you

Lots of voltage doesn’t go to ground.
There is an inbalance in the current between the phases, which the power company doesn’t like.
I worked at a plant where no thought was given to which leg a single phase load was connected to .So many circuits were connected to the same leg that the power company took notice.

The Earth is a good conductor. It may not be a good conductor at the micro level, but a bad conductor that is miles wide has low resistance overall.

I think you’re mixing up voltage and current here. On a three-phase line driven with the same voltage across all three phases and the same load across all three phases, current will ideally sum to 0.