I need info about you as a language learner (even if you know only one)

I’m an author who found a conversation in one of these forums about my first book, Um…: Slips, Stumbles, and Verbal Blunders, and What They Mean. Given the high quality of the discussion, I thought I should reach out for assistance with the book I’m working on now, a pop nonfiction book about language superlearners and the upper limit of the ability to speak and learn languages. You can read more about it at www.babelnomore.com.

I sought and received permission from list moderators to post links to two surveys that were set up to collect more complete information about language learners.

One survey is for people who do not consider themselves bilingual/multilingual, and who don’t have significant experience with a second/foreign language besides their mother tongue. Maybe you studied another language, but only starting in high school or later. The survey is here.

The other survey is intended for people who speak six languages or more. The definition of “speak” is up to you; you’ll be able to report your level of abilities in each language. This survey can be found here.

On the last page of each survey, you can send me a note to enter a drawing for a free copy of the book and to receive the results of the survey.

Some more about me: I write mainly about language and linguistics, and my articles have appeared all over. I’m also the father of a brand new baby (hence the dark circles under my eyes, and the smile).

Thanks for any help! I’ll be hanging around, and happy to answer questions.

Michael Erard

So if you speak, say, three languages at native level and can make yourself understood in half a dozen more but forget about “heavy discussions,” it counts as “speaking six languages”?