I need some tattoo advice

I’ve been pondering this for quite a while, and I’ve decided I want a tattoo. It’s a very specific tattoo for a very specific reason (and to answer this thread’s question, it’s for me–nobody else).

It’s been almost two years now since my oncologist declared me officially cancer-free. I’m a fan of sword-and-sorcery fantasy books, and I identify strongly with my Scottish ancestors. To me, there are a lot of parallels between epic fantasy battles against various monsters and the epic real-life battle against the cancer.

I want a tattoo–probably on my biceps–of a victorious kilted warrior standing over the corpse of a dragon (or dragon-like creature) with his broadsword thrust through the monster’s head. The dragon, obviously, symbolizes the cancer.

I’m not an artist. I know what I want, but I can’t draw it. I’m not in New York City, or Mexico City, or London, or any other big city with a tattoo parlor on every street corner. I’m in a small Montana town. I can travel to a bigger city (within reason), but I can’t afford to spend thousands on a trip just to get the tattoo, and I don’t know how to select a tattoo parlor anyway.

How do I find an artist to do the work? Do I have the drawing done by one person and the actual tattoo applied by another, or does one person do both? What is this going to cost me?

Thanks for the help, tattooed Dopers!

There’s several good questions here.