I practice Tai Chi, and so should you (especially you)

I’ve been practicing tai chi for about 6 years now, which is sort of unusual as I was only 38 when I started and typically such practice is targeted towards people in their 60s and up. I had already gotten a black belt in American Kenpo in my 20s, which is karate, a Japanese martial art. I wanted to do more with martial arts but I was well past the age and shape of doing a hard art. Tai chi is a Chinese martial art, and “internal” art that focuses on power from within as opposed to external strength.

My local rec center started offering tai chi, taught by a local kung fu instructor (tai chi is a form of kung fu). We met twice a week, with 1-4 students per session for many years. Eventually we got up to like 10 students, with a lot of people coming in and out of the class. The instructor had to start toning down the class to make it more senior friendly, so me and the other more serious students moved to classes at his school in the next town over.

Now the rec center class is full at 20 students per class, 2x a week. Our class at his school is smaller, but there’s a consistent group going 2x a week, and us advanced students 2x a week.

We’ve got students in their 80s. Most are in their 70s. Tiny old women and big burly old guys. People with hip replacements, knee replacements, cancer survivors, people worn down by decades of physical work. And me, the morbidly obese middle-aged lady. Tai chi is for everyone!

It’s not woo-woo to say that tai chi really delivers as an exercise. Class is only 45 minutes long but you get sweaty and sore, barely moving from your spot. It DEFINITELY improves your balance - we do a lot of work just to get your balance going before we even show you any moves. There are forms (like a kata in karate, or basically like a choreographed routine) made up of poses (like yoga but they flow into each other) and basic principles that you apply to the poses to make the form.