"I studied at Oxford and Harvard. Majored in Western hypocrisy."

This thread could go into Cafe Society or General Questions:
In the movie Die Another Day, North Korean colonel Tan Sun Moon remarks, “I studied at Oxford and Harvard. Majored in Western hypocrisy.”

Now, Colonel Tan is a fictional character, of course. But I was pondering: How might something like this happen in real life (that is, how might a North Korean elite gain entry into a prestigious Western university - let’s say, **not **Oxford and Harvard, but some other prestigious university?)

Would he have had to construct a fake identity? Could he have simply applied directly to an elite Western university - they accept North Korean academic credentials just like any other applicants?

It helps if your father threatens them with a declaration of war. :smiley:

It appears that the US requires a type “F” student visa for North Koreans attending college in the US. In order to apply for such a visa, they must have been already accepted to a college approved by the Study and Exchange Visitor Program (SEVP). Harvard University is SEVP-approved, so if a North Korean student is accepted by Harvard, they could presumably attend there, if they were permitted to leave North Korea in the first place.

Which apparently is very unlikely, and impossible for anyone but the children of elites.

Kimstu:

Which is what that character in Die Another Day was.

Two questions here: the politics of visa rules (set by government) and admission requirements (set by universities).