I Used to Be Irish

Yes, that’s what I said. I used to be Irish. And what with St. Patrick’s day just around the corner, I’m sort of missing my Irish heritage. I’m sad that I won’t be able to partake this year the way I did last…as a person with legitimate Irish blood in their veins.

Geneology is sort of a hobby on my dad’s side of the family. This is in part because they tend to live to be so old. That sets up a situation in which it’s easy to access information about previous generations…you just ask them! Or ask them about their parents. I’m not suggesting that everyone should value their ancestry. I have a friend who thinks this is ridiculous. But in my particular situation, it’s come to be a way in which I identify myself. Something I use to feel at home and connected in my world.

My father is Italian and English. On his side of the family I’m a direct descendant of Ralph Waldo Emerson, among other well-known writers. Since I write for a living, I love feeling somehow connected to the other writers in my past. (Please note that I said I do it for a living–not that I’m good at it. I don’t want this assertion to be any indication of the quality you can expect from this boring story.)

My mother’s adoptive parents were told that she was Irish and Italian, just like them. She was adopted in 1946 from a Catholic Social Services organization, which told her new parents that she was the product of a teenaged, “illegitimate birth.” Her paperwork indicated that her name prior to adoption was Mary Margaret McCarthy.