I Want A Website-What Do I Do, And How Much Will It Cost

I’m going into the clowning business. I think I need a website. I have no idea what to do, or how to do it. I think I can get some friends to do the actual site in exchange for collectible toys or favors. But what do I do to get the domain name? Where do I host my files? etc.

I throw myself on the mercy of the Dope!

Web hosting has gotten really cheap and good about taking care of all the details for you, e.g. domain registration. I’d check out one of the big hosts like GoDaddy or 1&1. (I have no personal experience with either of these, but have heard positive things about both.)

I’ve heard of GoDaddy. But there’s so much to click on and so many blanks to fill in, I’m not sure what to do.

On the upside thesillyman.com is available for only $8.99 a year.

I had a political activist website back in 2002 through geocities.com. (There was a state initiative I was trying to defeat. It passed, but I had a lot of fun and learned a lot.) Registering the domain name was fairly inexpensive, and although geocities offered a free website service, I opted for the $14.95 one to avoid the ads and get some more goodies.

Basically, come up with your domain name, and if it isn’t already taken, you can register it.

You can write it off as a business expense.

It will cost nothing.

Okay, if you want a real website, it will still cost something, but a very decent one can be had for free.

Check out http://www.officelive.com for Microsoft’s offering. The domain name is registered to you, not Microsoft.

So here’s a shameless plug for my own website (in my profile), which I consider to be of decent quality, and for which I’ve paid nothing.

I’ve been a GoDaddy customer for several years. I’ve always found their customer service to be absolutely top-notch.