I want to learn to surf. What do I need to know?

The title says it all…
I’m a moderate swimmer (I can do laps for hours in a pool, but just not that quickly or elegantly) Should I further develop my swimming skills before venturing into the ocean? Everything I’ve read suggests that it’s all about core strength - a strong back, abs, etc is key, so I’m searching for a gym to get my soft puffy centre into shape (Wish me luck :stuck_out_tongue: )
I understand that there is a definite surfer etiquette, but I’m a little unclear on the details.

Anyone have any advice for the newbie?

I can’t help you much, as I’m a rank novice. But I will note that swimming skills aren’t particularly relevant. Athletic ability and general fitness (which swimming might help to develop) are assets. You will certainly benefit from working on the type of balance that snowboarding, skateboarding, waterskiing (especially with one ski) and windsurfing tend to emphasize.

The most important thing will be finding a beach that produces the right kind of “learning waves”. You need small waves that gently break about 100 or so feet from shore. The first kind of wave that you will ride is one that has already broken. You will have the “white water” push you toward the beach. Just lay on the board at first to just get the feel of how the waves push you. Next you have to learn how to catch a wave by paddling the same speed as the wave until you feel it start to push you. After you feel comfortable and can balance on your stomach pretty well, catch a wave and do a quick “push up” to get to your feet, but you should immediately squat down to lower your center of gravity. Next you’ll have to learn how to catch a wave that haven’t broken yet and ride it straight toward the beach. Finally you’ll learn how to ride a wave either to the right or left on the face of the wave.

This will all take LOTS of practice.

Where are you? There should be someone around that offers lessons.