I want to play guitar! Or maybe bass! Help me choose!

Yep. I, like so many other college students, have a dream of starting a band. I have other like-minded people to start. What I (or any of us) don’t have is: Instruments, Musical Knowledge or Talent (that we know of). Anyhow, that’s pretty much irrelelvant because I want to learn to play either guitar or bass (electric in both cases).

Any suggestions on which one? I have no musical experience, if that effects things. Also, I’m 6’7", but have fairly small hands for someone of my stature, so size of the thing isn’t really a factor (I think).

Also, any recommendations as to specific make/model is more than welcome, as is advice on how to go about learning.

Bass. There is a terrific demand for even the most rudimentary bass players. Buy a bass, practice with CD’s awhile, then join a band and let someone teach you what to play. Not kidding.

Think about what sort of person you are:

Do you want to be in the spotlight? Have the chicks hit on you every night? Get your ya-yas out without worrying about what everyone else is doing? You’re a lead guitar player.

Are you a steady type, always making sure everyting is OK? Would you rather hide in the shadows and let someone else take the credit? Buy a bass and practice, practice, practice.

Get someone experienced (or hire a teacher) to go with you when you plan to purchase your instrument. Getting a playable instrument is not something a beginner can do easily.

I vote bass. I got no reassons why, I just think bass is cool.

Happy

Long time player here:

Learn guitar. If you learn guitar you can pick up the basics of bass in about 5 minutes. The reverse is NOT true.

Long time guitarist here.

Guitar - dime-a-dozen (although song-oriented, good guitarists are always in demand) comfortable with the spotlight (unless you exclusively play rhythm guitar and purposely stay in the background).