I was asked to resign...so I did.

Anyone looking for a jack-of-all-business duties with 7 years of finance and hedge fund experience? Anyone? Anyone?

I have been working in the same office now for 6 years, all of it with the same guy as my boss-then-partner. Being that we are ex-pats our lives also got interwined a bit, moreso than the typical work relationship (I was leaned on to help with his family life, pay his bills and take care of problems because he doesn’t speak Czech worth shit). Truthfully, things haven’t been going well between the two of us for the last few years. It’s almost been like a marriage that you couldn’t get a divorce from…Constant fights and arguments over silly stuff that should never have happened in the first place.

The problems I have had with him are many and detailed. Without boring you overmuch, he is a brilliant man at the forefront of his field who is incapable of managing his life, let alone an office. His ego controlled most everything he did, which had the lovely side-effect of his being able to rationalize everything in his favor. In six years of working with him I heard him say the word ‘sorry’ once. Even when it was 100% clear that he made a mistake, however trivial, he wouldn’t acknowledge it, he would simply leave the room in a huff or go quiet and ignore you. Can we say passive-aggressive blamestorming coward?

If I had had an easy opportunity to leave, I would have done so years ago. However the US economy started its downward spiral, so we couldn’t move back. And then Wifecat got preggers right around the time the idea was floated to start a hedge fund…so I stayed. Possibly not the best decision I have ever made.