I'd like to start a blog...where to begin?

That’s pretty much it. My friend and I are going to embark on a domestic adventure soon, and I think a blog might be fun.
I’ve looked at various sites online but I’d like some feedback from others who may have already done the process…just the basics, I guess.

1. try hard not to be boring. Just because it’s your life does not make it fascinating to anyone except yourself.
  2. proofread for chrissake.
  3. don’t be confessional, you will regret it quickly.
  4. make a point to create continuity. As in, "In my last entry, two years ago, I was pregnant and was planning to dye my hair black, and George didn’t know whether he got that job in Zimbabwe. So I’m going to now bring you up to date, not just post a picture of me with my new kitten with the caption “look what I found in Greenfield!”

I started a blog 4 years ago about my favorite baseball team. I just went to blogger.com and set up an account. I’m actually a professional Web developer with a stable of my own Web servers and I didn’t want to bother with anything but a hosted blog.

I took some time to design it how I want - colors, and position of stuff - but still basically used the standard template. There are tiny tiny tweaks by me but not much.

I also got a Twitter account and use twitterfeed.com to automatically make a post to Twitter when I make a new blog post.

I don’t get that many views but I am consistent about writing and pretending as if I had a larger audience. A lot of my stuff gets read after-the-fact (my posts are kind of timely) by people searching Google.

Having a lot of unique pictures and gifs helps in my case. YMMV (but people do love pictures)

I write a couple of blogs using Wordpress. I created a Facebook page for one of them and have it set to post to the fb page every time that I write a new post.

Are you asking about the technical and practical aspects of setting up a blog, or the ongoing process of writing and keeping motivated?