Idling Car while Filling up w/ Gas

I’m a relitively new driver who accidently left the engine on while filling up with gas yesterday. I was always told this is dangerous but before I left the station I asked the attendent who said that as long as I don’t ‘change states’ ie turn the car on/off etc while filling up there isn’t a problem.

So whats the straight dope?

The “obvious” risk is that heat or sparks from a running engine may ignite the gas fumes present while pumping. I don’t see how turning the engine off during fueling could cause a problem, but starting it up could be a problem. FTR I have never personally seen or heard of anyone’s car catching fire because of fueling with the engine running.

Another hazard, which has caused gas tank fires in recent memory is caused by getting back in the car after starting to fuel and then getting out again. If conditions are right, this can cause a static buildup in your body, then when you touch the metal nozzle on the gas pump the spark can cause the fuel vapors to ignite.

There are those who would tell you not to use your cell phone while fueling, also because of sparks, but this has generally been debunked.

A while ago, my car died as I was about to fill up. The guy across from me, tossed me his cables and opened his hood. Just I’m about to start up the engine, a hand enters the window and grabs my keys. The guy looked terrified…“What are you crazy…? You jump that car and you’ll kill us all!” There was gas all over the ground and a couple of people were pumping gas behind us. He was convinced all it would have taken was one spark…

He helped me push the car to the back of station, and jumped it. Apparently he spent the rest of the day, telling the tale of the two morons who nearly blew up his station.

If there really was ‘gas all over the ground’, then that manager did the right thing. Sparks are often created when you clamp the cables to the battery terminals.