If a tanker semi was able to use its payload tank as additional fuel, how many miles?

If you routed the diesel fuel in the payload tank (such as Amoco) back to the engine of the semi carrying the tank, how many miles could the semi conceivable travel before running out of fuel?

This would be a differential equation problem, where you would need to know the mileage of the semi both fully loaded and empty, and of course, the volume of the payload tank.
I’m guessing the tank would be in the thousands of gallons
range.
You could also get marginally more miles if the conventional
gas tanks of the semi were used.

This is a question that has bugged me for some time.

Well, since I’m an Engineer and used to guesstimating, I won’t go stampeding towards the Laplace Transforms just yet…

It seems to me that all you need is a rough estimate. Find out what the mileage is pulling a full tank, what it is pulling an empty tank, how much fuel is typically carried onboard, how much fuel the big tank holds, and do this:

miles of range = ((Full Tank Mileage[sub]miles/gal[/sub] + Empty Tank Mileage[sub]miles/gal[/sub])/2) *(Onboard tank capacity[sub]gal[/sub] + Big Tank Capacity[sub]gal[/sub])

I mean really, there are too many variables at play here to expect a whole lot better answer.

A little investigation suggests that large tanker trucks are about 8000 gallon capacity (accident reports and so on). If that were water, that would be 32 tons, so I can’t imagine a much greater capacity, and I wouldn’t have guessed that much.

Somebody else can find the mileage figures now.

An empty semi weighs 30,000 to 40,000. The maximum legal weight for a semi is 80,000 pounds. I am not sure what a gallon of diesel weighs but I think its pretty close to water, 8 LB a gallon. With these numbers the maximum load is 6,250 gallons.