If I got a five-string uke, could I tune it like the bottom five strings of the guitar?

(Bottom as in "closest to the floor when the instrument is held and played normally.)

I’ve been playing guitar for many years now, and lately I have been gravitating more and more to Renaissance and early Baroque era music. Guitars in those days had only four or five courses although each “course” usually consisted of two strings, much like a twelve string guitar today. The paired strings would either be in unison or octaves of each other. There’s quite a repertoire of early music for the five-course guitar, and today there are luthiers who build costly replicas of early era guitars and lutes.

While one of these replicas is not in the budget at the moment, it occurred to me that some type of ukulele might have something to offer. The early guitars were smaller and had a quieter and higher sound. So does the uke. Having gut strings, the early guitars had a mellower tone. So does the uke. And my investigations, consisting of taking a four string uke down from the wall at a guitar store and playing the first few lines of Roncalli’s Passacaglia in A minor on it, show that as long as you don’t need that bass A string, you can play classical guitar music on one just fine! (Obviously, the gentleman in the YouTube link above is not me, but presumably a surgeon specializing in kidney transplants, judging by his name).

It occurs to me that a five string ukulele of at least decent quality would be very suitable for this type of music. But typically the top string in a five-string uke is an octave to one of the other four strings. Could it be tuned in such a way that music on the five bottom strings on the regular guitar could be transferred to the uke without any modification whatsoever?