If the US Lost the Revolutionary War - Better Off Now?

I have no great knowledge of American history, but recently my husband commented that the US would be a better country if we had lost the Revolutionary War. It sounded like a cool idea for a GD thread.

What do you think? Presumably slavery would have been abolished sooner, and maybe we would have more social programs in place? Can we assume we would be subject to the same laws as England? Could something like the Civil War even happen? Would we have such stark division between the North and the South if slavery had not become so entrenched?

Thanks for your consideration.

Interesting question. I imagine we probably would have followed Canada’s path of semi-independence followed by real nationhood. One thing I wonder about is if the Louisiana Purchase would have happened like it did (I doubt Napoleon would have been willing to sell to his main enemy). Perhaps Spain would have bought it instead.

Your closest analogue would be Canada, which had the French and English tearing it up every 50 years on the average until that Great Misunderstanding in the early 1800s which more-or-less settled the issue.

The British may have been punitive to the upstart colonists for at least some time, imposing order in the form of their own (ever-stricter) officials and breeding a sense of resentment that would, if not lead to outright civil war, at least to prolonged guerilla campaigns. (See the Boer War, the Manitoba Revolt, and arguably the FLQ for historical analogues).

Would that “real nationhood” have involved a United States, or would each colony have eventually become its own independent nation?

It’s hard to say. The U.S. would probably look a lot different. Would we have expanded further West? Taken Texas?

World politics would have changed as well. How would the Allies have made out in both World Wars if the U.S. didn’t exist as it did?