I'm a Bad Manager

I am manager of a software team of 14 SW Engineers, this puts me smack dab in Middle Management, a position I have accepted for about 20 years.

So yesterday I was counseled by the Project Manager. It turns out I’m too nice.
The team is behind schedule, I blame this on an insane development schedule to meet an unrealistic date. So I have people working late, coming in early, giving up their week-ends, and taking work home with them. This has been going on for about a month and will continue for at least another month. People are getting tired and cranky.

Back to the counseling, I was told to be more of an asshole.:eek: That is the exact wording.

Later HIS boss came to see me to let me know I should be micro-managing.:eek::eek: He believes my people are getting away with too much, TOO MUCH? They are working their collective asses off.

If I had to list two rules of managing I would have to say, Don’t Micro-manage and Don’t be an Asshole.

So, how do I fake these things, because I really don’t think I can do them.

Talk to some of your employees and tell them to talk about how you are an asshole in the breakroom so other people can hear them?

You can interpret this in two ways:

• They are, literally, telling you to pursue bad management practices.

• They are trying to tell you that on the “too soft/high-level” to “too harsh/detail-oriented” spectrum, you are too far on the Soft side. I often have to work with managers of departments that report to me to get them to tighten up their project management process and reporting. This is simply because the scale of what we are working on has increased, and if you don’t tighten things down, you can’t handle the increased scope.