I'm a shy photographer

I used to be heavily into photography (as an amateur hobbyist), and now I want to get back into it. I’m soon going to buy a decent entry-level DSLR and some gear (total under $1,000, as I said, it’s a hobby, not a profession).

My request for help comes from the fact that I tend to be self-conscious when I’m out photographing. I suffer from avoidant personality disorder, so while I’m competent at tasks, I really don’t want to get involved with people.

What I want to do is go outdoors and photograph landscapes, cityscapes, etc. without having to deal with people around me. I know that’s not always possible (say, if I go downtown at lunch hour), so how do I deal with my condition in those circumstances? (I’m happy to deal with people in a very short term situation–waitstaff at a restaurant, people at a checkout lane in a store, etc. I know how to control it then–it’s workplaces and real conversations that paralyze me).

And if I photograph crowd scenes in a public place, do I need any kind of model release or anything if I were to ever plan on publishing the photo?

The simple answer is to seek help for your disorder, which will prevent the need for workarounds. However, I understand that’s easy for me to say and difficult for you to accomplish.

IANAL, but I believe that photography in a public space is permitted without a release.

Go out at the time when the places are deserted, which is probably Sunday morning.

Dress in a way that doesn’t draw attention that you’re a photographer. Make it look like you’re a tourist taking photos. If you look like a pro (lots of cameras and equipment), people passing by are more likely to want to ask what you’re doing.

Do a bunch of practice outings where you are just in the space taking irrelevant photos. Hopefully, that will help you realize that no one is going to care or notice you’re there. Then when you want to take photos for real, you can concentrate on the subject.