I'm getting a puppy. HALP.

I’ve lived with dogs and puppies before, but they were bought by the parents and thus not really mine. And, I mean, I know basic things like y’know, don’t smack it around, use positive reinforcement whenever possible, things like that, but really? I have no experience training a dog. I’m terrified.

I want a lot of things out of this dog. I want him to know commands, like come, sit, down, stay, heel, and fetch. I want him to be very well-mannered-- I don’t want him to bark unless I command it, and if he does, I want him to stop it instantly as soon as I say to. I don’t want him jumping on people. I want him to be friendly to friendly strangers and animals. I want him to get along with my two adult cats. I don’t want him pulling me down the street when we walk. I want him to, eventually, be able to be unsupervised and uncrated indoors without destroying the house or himself.

I really have no idea how to go about getting these things out of a dog. Does anyone have any tips? Book/video recommendations? Good websites? Any help would be greatly appreciated… I’m stressing myself out thinking when I get him he’s going to be this barking little crazy thing I can’t control and then I’ll be stuck with him forever. :[

The local community college has dog training courses, including a puppy kindergarten course. You are showing great potential as a dog owner, as you have already decided who will be the leader in your pack. My nephew’s wife works with Jack Russell Terriers, which are great dogs but they are very energetic. One of the commands that she teaches the pups is “DROP!”, which means that the dog is to drop whatever it has in its mouth. I have no idea how she does this, but it’s a useful command.