I'm going to Harvard!

Okay, just for four weeks over the summer, but still, woohoo!

I’m a third-grade teacher who adores fantasy literature in its many forms and who has created a unit on writing fantasy based loosely on Joseph Campbell’s Monomyth.

In January, I checked out the National Endowment for the Humanities’s (I have no idea how one possessifies a proper noun with a plural noun as its last word–is that right?) Summer Institute for Teachers. It’s a program in which teachers spend 2-5 weeks of their summer completing an intense professional development in an academic setting. There were a lot of cool-looking programs, but none of them looked really appropriate for me.

Except one. Golden Compasses as Moral Compasses: The Ethics and Aesthetics of Fairy Tales and Fantasy.

I was gobsmacked when I read the course description. If you were designing a course specifically for me, this would be the course. It hits on my professional and personal interests perfectly.

So I applied, revising my application essay many times. And yesterday (on April Fool’s Day, but this better not be a joke), I got an acceptance call. From Harvard! From Maria Tatar, one of the world’s leading scholars of children’s fantasy literature!

Anyway, I’m super-excited. And if you live in Cambridge or nearby and have advice for a guy coming to live in your fair city for a month, I’m all ears.

Houghton library has, or had when I was there, an Emily Dickinson room and a John Keats room.

There are some Keats manuscripts on display.

The ED room had some family furnishings including the dresser her sister Lavinia found her poems in.

H.W. Longfellow has a home near Harvard, as he taught there also.

If you are touring Boston or Salem, oh I could go on about that. :slight_smile: