I'm going to Spain! What should I do there?

For my first grown up vacation at my new grown up job, I’ve decided to go to Spain. I’m taking the first two weeks of Ocober off, spending a few days in NYC, and then flying to Madrid. I fly out of Barcelona a week and a half later, and I have essentially zero plans in between. I studied architecture, and I’m enough of a nerd to want to visit some Calatrava and Gaudi works, but otherwise I don’t know much about Spain. I am quite fond of train rides, I’m a huge foodie, and I like to swing dance and sail (although I’m perfectly happy not to indulge those hobbies), and I tend to avoid the touristy places; I prefer my travel photos to be of urban decay and/or deserts (although for Gaudi I’ll make an exception). So I turn to you, O Dopers, to fill me in on the juiciest. Where to?

You say you’re a foodie so you like to eat, right?

Barcelona

Sevilla and Madrid

For Barcelona, you have lots of Gaudí and similar materials nearby. Get a pass for one of the hop-off hop-on buses and visit Sagrada Familia (then walk up Passeig Gaudí to Hospital de Sant Pau, by Doménech i Muntaner), Parc Guell and all of Passeig de Gràcia (includes La Pedrera and Casa Batlló - both by Gaudí - as well as some by DiM and others). If you walk from Sagrada Familia to Passeig de Gràcia following Diagonal, you’ll go past Puig i Cadalfach’s Casa de les Punxes (House of Sharp Points), which I used to think of as “the fairy tale castle” when I was little. You have tourist information offices in Sants train station, in Sagrada Familia square and in Plaça Catalunya (the ç is pronounced s).

Both Sitges (bring your towel, bathing suit optional, some tall ladies may not be - whichever floats your boat but take it into account) and Reus are reachable by train and have enough Modernisme to make any fan of the movement dizzy. Reus includes some Gaudí jobs, Sitges has some Doménech i Muntaner, a very nice art museum and an etnographic one which are worth visiting.