I'm looking for a laptop under $700 and I don't want to get screwed...

Okay, so I’m skeptical.

I’m a student and I want to buy a computer under 700$ that is going to be somewhat reliable. any ideas? what should I be getting for around this price? I am slowly seeing how hard it is to buy a computer online

I’ve already got a laptop but I still want to get screwed. Unless something has been lost in the translation.

Check a local, non-chain computer store. Or, goto a refurbished.comm type of website, or apple.com, dell.com, or other major computer sellers have refurbished and certified sales areas on their websites that change daily. Check those out as well.

If you want to go new, www.hp.com has a ze4800 series notebook for $799 with free shipping. The specs are below. This would be a good new starter notebook. Note that I went to the HP Pavillion notbooks and selected ze4800 series. If this is too steep a price, look at the refurbished machines on www.dell.com and www.hp.com and you should get a good deal. The big retailers, (Staples, Best Buy, Circuit City, Frys) have sales weekly. If any of them are selling AMD -M systems you can get more bang for your buck picking one up over an equally priced Celeron.
Processor AMD Athlon™ XP-M 2600+ 2.00 GHz edit
Operating System Microsoft® Windows® XP Home Edition edit
Memory 256MB DDR SDRAM (1x256MB) edit
Hard Drive 30 GB 4200 RPM Hard Drive edit
Primary CD/DVD Drive DVD/CDRW Combo Drive edit
Networking Built in 56K Modem+10/100 LAN edit
Display 14.1" TFT XGA (1024 x 768) edit
Graphics Card ATI Mobility Radeon™ edit
Productivity Software Microsoft® Works/Money edit
Primary Battery 8 Cell Lithium Ion Battery edit

An HP refurb is available at This site
C23129-999-BB4Y NX9010 2.8P4/40G/256M/CD/15TFT/WL/XPP $799
Dell has some refurbished Celerons from $755-$850.

Good luck