I'm moving: can anyone recommend good Chicago neighborhoods and real estate agents?

So, I don’t have an actual offer letter yet, but it looks like I may be taking a position at University of Illinois Chicago! The position looks fantastic and I’m pretty excited. This will hopefully be a long term position, so I’m also planning on buying a house/condo/apartment, which I’ve never done before.

Can anyone tell me about areas convenient to the UIC medical buildings on South Wolcott? Ideally, I’d like to be in walking distance (no more than 2.5 miles), but will also consider transit options. Would prefer not to need to drive. Don’t have kids, so local school districts are not an issue. Would love to also be in walking distance of lots of good food. Looking for a small house or a large (2-3 bedroom) apartment.

Also, this will be a first-time home buying experience for myself and my partner, and I’m terrified. Does anyone know a good buyer’s agent in Chicago?

My best piece of advice for you is rent until you are absolutely sure you want to live in the neighborhood you choose. A few blocks in Chicago make a world of difference in some neighborhoods, and if you buy in an area that isn’t safe it may be tough to resell if you want to leave. The area directly surrounding UIC isn’t the safest.

Wicker Park is about 3 miles north, it’s a nice area, plenty of restaurants and a great walking neighborhood. It is pricey. The Damen bus would be a good option to travel to UIC. There might be an El train option, I’m not really familiar with the El in that area.