I'm quitting. Now give me my raise.

Being a college student, I work for a nationwide chain of pharmacy/general stores. So as not to offend any employee who works in this chain, I will pretend to be in good faith and refer to it by the thinly veiled attack of “Bite Aid.”

I was making half nothing. Also, completely incompetent fuckers (heretofore, “ComInFucks”) who I was saddled with the responsibility of training were walking in and making 60 cents per hour more than I was. No prior cashiering experience, no special skills, no extra availability - just 60 cents more for no good reason.

I bitched and bitched and bitched to my manager, who recognized, just as my district manager did, that there was a GIANT gap in both ability and pay between Ace and the ComInFucks. So he promised me 60 cents.

A few weeks later, he said he made a mistake and promised me 60 cents.

A few weeks later, 35 cents were in my paycheck. No big deal, since most of the ComInFucks only lasted a few weeks.

Anyways, so recently I asked for a promotion. I needed the extra $1 an hour that comes with being a key cashier, and I was ready and willing to take the responsibility. It came with a three-week training period, and in the fourth week I was to receive my raise.

The check for the fourth week came last Friday. No raise. On Saturday, I worked with my head manager. I wrote up all of the pertinent information (number of hours, amount of raise, employee #, etc) and asked her to please make sure I was compensated or at least had some kind of reaction from someone higher up than her. I didn’t work again until Wednesday, so I assumed three business days plus a Sunday would be enough to get at the very least an “I’m sorry” from someone who once shook hands with a FOAF of the guy who runs payroll.

I came in on Wednesday. NOTHING. My manager made no mention of the situation, there was no check, no cash advance, no apology, NOTHING.

I gave my notice and my last shift is on October 5th.