If you were golfer and hit a ball that for some reason rolled back to you, do you have to get out of the way of the ball? Or can you stay still and let the ball touch you?
For instance, your ball is near a water hazard. You hit the ball, it hits a tree, and starts to roll back towards you. If you stand still, the ball will roll to your foot and stop. If you move out of the way, the ball will roll into the water. The ball is moving slowly enough that you have plenty of time to get out of the way. Are you obligated to move out of the way so that the ball stops on its own? Or can you stand motionless and let the ball stop at your foot?
This Rule applies only when it is known or virtually certain that a player’s ball in motion was deliberately deflected or stopped by a person, which is when:
A person deliberately touches the ball in motion, or
The ball in motion hits any equipment or other object (except a ball-marker or another ball at rest before the ball was played or otherwise went into motion) or any person (such as the player’s caddie) that a player deliberately positioned or left in a particular location so that the equipment, object or person might deflect or stop the ball in motion.
Emphasis mine.
I interpret this to mean that intentionally not moving out of the way is the same thing as deliberatively stopping the ball. This would be subjective in that it’d have to be clear and obvious that the contact was not accidental. The penalty would be 2 strokes.
The way it’s worded is a little ambiguous since it seems to be describing a situation where a person placed themselves or any object in a location they predicted would affect the ball before it’s struck, but there’s no clear statement. I think the spirit of the rule definitely applies here.
Throwing in an aside, since the rule has been quoted, this reminds me of a Ryder Cup match from way back. It was raining, and one team was getting ready to go for a long putt.
The grounds crew uses rollers to remove standing water between the ball and the hole. The other team starts yelling “you have to remove the water behind the hole, too!” The puddle behind was basically a wall protecting them from overshooting the hole.
I can imagine this happening on a putting green with a lot of uphill slope. You might putt the ball uphill weakly and find the ball rolling back downhill towards you and stopping at your shoe. The rule book talks a lot about impediments on the green but not that specific and fairly obvious example which is odd. Perhaps they think it’s obvious enough to not require clarification.
Oh, on a putt! I was picturing a drive somehow hitting the player, and wondering how on Earth that would happen (I mean, I can imagine ways, but they’re all pretty outlandish).
I wonder if golfer’s ever get in a situation where a 2-stroke penalty is the better option. Suppose that just behind the hole is a slope what leads down to a water hazard. Hit the ball too hard and it will roll into that hazard, which is at least a 1-stroke penalty, then you still have to hit it back on the green, and putt.
Instead of that, have the caddie stand behind the hole. Hit the ball too hard, the caddie stops it, take the penalty, and tap it in.
You say that like it’s a bad thing.
Curling does have some things in common with golf.
I recently watched a video where a golfer was putting towards the hole and made a really good putt that was going to go in. To celebrate, he threw his putter up in the air. And it landed in front of the hole and blocked the ball.
There was an infamous incident years ago, where a combination of extremely tight-mown green and windy conditions meant that a putt up to the hole would always stop and then roll back down 15 feet or so. John Daly ran up to the hole and put his foot down to block the ball from rolling back.
Phil Mickelson infamously did this during I think a US Open a few years back; the ball would have rolled back off the green but it is doubtful that it would have been worse than the 2 automatic strokes.
This scenario is addressed in the link I shared earlier.
(2) Stroke Made from Putting Green. The player must replay the stroke by playing the original ball or another ball from the spot where that stroke was made (see Rule 14.6).
Basically, there is no real advantage to be gained. The player must take a 2-stroke penalty and then they need to replay the ball from the original location. So they are still in the same jeopardy they were in beforehand.
Off the green, there’s perhaps a little more opportunity for that, but not really. Since a ball falling into a bunker or water is still generally a 1 stroke cost (stroke or penalty) and in the case of water you’re still dropping in the same spot but taking a 2 stroke instead of 1 stroke penalty.
I don’t know how this was ultimately scored, but this looks like at least a 4 stroke penalty. 2 strokes for stopping the ball in motion then 2 strokes for playing it from the wrong spot. You could possibly say he played it from the wrong spot twice considering the first contact with the moving ball might be considered a stroke. I’m too lazy to Google it to verify.