Including student status on a resume?

I earned my B.S. this past March, and I’ve just begun my Master’s in Statistics. But my heart really isn’t in it anymore; I’m 38 years old, and I’ve been going to school on and off for twenty years - “on” for the past five. I’ve about had it, and I’m ready to get on with my life. If I can find a good job, I’ll drop out of school in a heartbeat. But the chances of that happening seem rather slim right now, so in the meantime I’ll keep plugging away at school.

I’ve been sending out resumes for the past couple of months, and one thing I’ve been going back and forth on is whether or not I should include the fact that I’m currently a graduate student - either on my resume or in a cover letter.

On the one hand, I’d like to think that, in some situations at least, the fact that I’m in grad school would score some points - for instance, if I’m applying for a job where knowledge of statistics is required.

But on the other hand, I’m afraid that a prospective employer might think that I’m not really that serious about wanting the job; or, I fear they would frown upon the idea that I’d be willing to toss school out the window. To put it another way, I guess I’m afraid that an employer would assume that I’m just throwing my resume out there to see what happens, and that school is more important to me - and thus they won’t want to waste time on me.

Thus far I’ve included my grad student status on some resumes/cover letters, and left it off others. Is that the best way to go about it?

If you are willing to just toss school out the window, why lie about it?