Increase my funding to 403b or start my wife's 401k?

I am the primary breadwinner in the family. I am a teacher and have a 403b. We are paying off our house this month and are ready to increase contributions to retirement. I already contribute pretty well to my 403b, but am planning to increase now we don’t have a mortgage to pay monthly.

We also have no debt. No credit card, student loans, or other stuff.

Her company does offer a 401k. We are not sure if she should start contributing to it or if I should just figure out how much she would have contributed to it and just add that to my 403b. She has not contributed to her 401k at all. I am relying on my investment + my teacher pension(Michigan).

Her company offers one reason to go with the 401k. They do a small matching. Once per year. 50 cents on the dollar. Maximum from them is $1000. So, if she contributes $2000 per year, she’d get $1000 from them. It’s based on profits, but we think they’ll offer it most years.

Is it worth that or should I just add $2000(or something close) to my 403b, which has been rolling along for 10+years. (I’m talking $2000 in addition to what I was already planning to increase).

Always contribute up to the match on your wife’s 401k, it is free money.

After contributing up to the match, put all contributions into whichever of your plans has funds with the lowest expense ratios, until you hit the contribution limit for that plan (if you can contribute that much). If you have enough money to do that and still contribute to the other spouses plan, then do that too.