Increased population is the cause of global warming

. . .or so a colleague claims. His stance is that the increased number of humans on the planet, all basically 98.6 degree heat generators, has increased the world temperature and thus causing the shrinkage of the polar ice pack. He claims that all this heat can’t be dissipated, so the climate is changing. He also claims that the scientific theory of emissions causing global warming is bunk. It sounds suspiciously like bobblehead radio nonsense, but I’m not a scientist.

I have two questions:

1. Is his postulation even remotely plausible and why/why not.

2. If not, please give me a cogent argument to refute it, as I would like to be able to debunk it.

What exactly does he think is causing the heat to be unable to dissipate?

Oh, wow. Okay, for starters, try pointing out to him that passenger pigeons used to exist in tremendous flocks, and their internal temperature was 41-42 degrees celcius, compared to human temperatures of 37 degrees celcius. And passenger pigeons alone numbered around 6 billion. Humans wiped them all out. Shouldn’t the earth have experienced a dramatic cooling trend at that point?

Of course not, because that’s ridiculous. But maybe that’ll get him seeing the silliness of the argument.

Daniel

I’ve always wondered about the spread of urban areas. Aren’t urban areas generally “hotter” than the surrounding surface?

He’s very vague about that; he sort of mumbles something about the planet not being able to absorb all that heat (apparently, he thinks our atmosphere is impenetrable). Oh, and he also makes a “point” that all these human bodies, which are multiplying by the millions, are not just one-time heat generators. They keep putting out 98.6 until they die. It’s just loopy enough to be difficult to refute, which is why I’ve come here for answers.

To be more specific with my earlier post, he needs to be able to do some things for us: