Insurance Q

I had my vehicle broken into last night and a few things stolen, namely my laptop and two toolbags. I am an onsite tech by trade, I own all my own tools.

Now, while I was on the phone with my insurance company they made a big point out of asking if any given item was for personal or business use. I understand that they would want to know if my employer provided those tools/missing items, but why do they care otherwise?

Because if they belonged to your place of business then they could claim the items through their insurance.

OK, I get that, ownership of the items has been established. Why would it matter if it was work or personal if the items in question are owned by me and stolen from my personal vehicle.

A lot of policies exclude property used for business, at least unless you buy a rider or a special policy.

http://www.naic.org/consumer_homeowners_faqs.htm

‘Property used for business’ and ‘business property’ aren’t the same thing. drachillix’s tools aren’t the property of his or any business. I think the wording used by the insurance company rep may have been purposely misleading.

Make sure you explain that your job doesn’t pay for your tools and that they are your personal property. I’m fairly certain you will be covered.

IIRC, drachillix is self-employed, and uses the laptop and tools as a part of his business. That may or may not exclude coverage. It will depend not on the snippet taken from a FAQ (which was offered as an explanation), but instead on the language of the policy and the cases in his state interpreting the language.

Also, I could be way off because I’m not sure which insurer he called or whether he has other coverage that might apply.