international airports

can anyone please help me find a website that tells u information on how to design an international airport? i searched all over google, yahoo, geocities, etc… but i can’t find anything. i would really appreciate if anyone can find a website. i mean designs an international airport by an architects view. :slight_smile:

Did you find any websites on airport design in general?
Because an international airport is a regular old airport with customs facilities (I think)

Brian

Architect 1: “Hey Bob, I need to design a new airport. Any tips?”
Architect 2: “Google is your friend…”

Not the dialogue I want to have running through my head when I’m flying. :slight_smile:

The odd thing is, I’m a licensed pilot and I don’t know what sets an “international” airport apart from a “domestic” airport.

I’m not even sure there IS formal definition.

There’s the bit about customs, of course, but between ground school being several years in the past, and my trip through the academics of flying taking place before 9/11/01, I’m no longer sure about how that works. Some airports have customs agents on duty at set times, in other cases you have to arrange ahead of time or else wait in your airplane for them to show up. At least, that’s how it was when I was in ground school.

(shuffles off to go look that stuff up…)

If you want to design a new international (or domestic, for that matter) go look at DWI (Detroit). It has changed from the airport I dreaded most having to change planes at (well, maybe second after Chicago-O’Hare) to the one I would most want to change at if i have to change. They have just done a marvelous job. Of course, airports are still one of my least favorite places to be.

Just out of curiousity, what’s the information for? Design assignment?