Interstate Highway Weirdness

In this thread, I noticed a few of the weird surreal stories were just off Interstate highways. The one about the I -70 in Indianapolis jumps to mind, for example. Now, what I’m interested in is weird stuff happening just steps away from huge transportation corridors that have thousands of oblivious drivers zipping by every day.

I’m studying Geography, particularly economic and tranportation geography. One of my favourite topics is the US Interstate Highway system. I think that the concept of the system is brilliant - a massive metwork of roads, all built and (well in theory in some places) maintained to a common standard, with mile markers and appropriatley numbered exits corrensponding to those miles. They are numbered to be intuitively understood - even numbers go east/west, odd numbers north/south. Anyone can just get in a car and move, unimpeded (again theoretically, in places) to anywhere else in the lower 48. The transport of goods that takes place on it is mind boggling. People often think of great US acheivements as being things like the space program (and sure it is, don’t get me wrong). Personally, I think the everyday things like the interstates have play a huge part in America’s strength.(Yeah, I’m a big nerd who is fascinated with transportation networks. Sue me):wink:

Whew, sorry about the hijack in my own OP. What I’m asking for is unintentional oddness - NOT the world’s largest tire pressure gauge or other silly stuff that people create to draw gawking tourists to their crappy diners/gas stations/low budget amusement parks, etc. No, what I’m taking about is from people living in quiet oddness just on the fringes of busy roads. You know, sort of the feeling that when you step of the main highway, you’ve just driven into something where people didn’t really want you to be, sort of a “We don’t get many visitors since they build the new highway” zeitgeist.