Interview tomorrow--shoe dilemma

So I’ve got a problem. Basically, I’m a college student with a very limited formal wardrobe. I’ve got one (1) pair of dark gray/black pants, one (1) button up white shirt, and a few pairs of shoes.

My problem? I left my only pair of formal black shoes at my parent’s house, a few hours away… and I have an interview tomorrow. This leaves me with a dilemma–I own 3 pairs of shoes here.

1. brown pumps with a slight heel
  2. black open toe shoes with slight heel
  3. my sketchers (e.g. sneakers.)

Obviously, 3 is out, however practical and comfortable they may be. I am left with a serious problem: commit the fashion crime of black pants/brown shoes or commit a perhaps business-casual crime by wearing open toed shoes. These shoes are almost like sandals, they would perhaps be appropriate to wear out dancing, but would probably be a faux-pas for interviews.

So which is the lesser of the two evils? Any thoughts? This makes me very sad, but I have few other options. :frowning: Just figured out I didn’t have the shoes tonight…

PS: None of my friends wear my same size shoes, so I can’t borrow any. And I have class from 10-12, and then my interview is at 1:45, so I have no time for an impromptu shopping trip. (No car.)

Hmm, that’s a tough one without actually seeing the shoes in question. I would probably wear the open toed shoes, but then I am known to dress very inappropriately for almost all occasions. :wink:

Depends on where you’re interviewing. If it’s a more casual atmosphere, then go with the open-toe shoe, since it’s more fashionable. If it’s a stodgy place, then you must go closed-toe.

Yeah, I know it’s difficult without seeing them… hmm.

The open toe shoe looks kinda like this:
http://www.ballroom-connection.com/xcart/product.php?productid=66&cat=2&page=2

The straps are different, but it’s a low heel like that.

The brown shoes are pretty much just standard shoes in a darkish brown. They look kinda like this: