Introducing a vegetarian to fish...

so I rarely post because I’m terribly shy but I’m in a bit of a pickle. A friend who has been a vegetarian for ten years has asked me to introduce her to the wonderful world of seafood, since soon we will be traveling to Corsica for a week, and she doesn’t want to immediately hork up whatever she eats there. So my job is to acclimate her. Any suggestions? She’s leaving the menu up to me, and I am a decent cook but my taste doesn’t really veer towards bland foods-- I like the spicy. Something tells me this is not a good way to introduce her to seafood. Please help!

Oh, and she does eat dairy.

Thanks! Help me! Thanks!

I have no expertise, but my WAG would be to start with something mild, like say tuna salad.

because a large amount of any seafood would most likely upset her stomach, try making a dish she nromaly eats, and adding a bit of fish to it. then work up gradually.

I was a veg for many years and started up with fish.

Don’t try something that is steak like. Like a big chunk of tuna, cod or shark. The imagery of steak will probably be off putting.

A whole fish with bones and everything would probably also be off putting.

Little pieces of fish mixed in with pasta or tuna salad mentioned above would be my suggestion.

[ed norton] Hello, fish… [/ed norton]
I agree with the small amount of fish, but try to get some that doesn’t smell too fishy. Ask your local fish seller. Maybe you could try a small amount of mild shellfish, like scallops?
Good luck.

. . . Are you sure she’s not just coming on to you?