Is Costco seen as a cheap option in the US?

Costco now has three stores in Australia, just having opened #3 in Brisbane.

I’d never been in Costco before, but my perception was that they are a cheap place to shop where you easily make up for the membership fee. My perception is based on them in the US though.

Two visits later, and while everything is certainly in larger packaging, but as I wondered around, I’m an analyst at heart and taking the time to work out prices on a per unit/per weight basis, and in the Brisbane store at least as a general rule, the grocery lines at least are not noticeably cheaper than the prices I can get at a normal supermarket.

I’m curious then, if the Australian stores are relying on the brand reputation as a very cheap place to shop, and hoping the average shopper isn’t as anal as me in checking per unit pricing. (Either that or relying on the Aussie young brother syndrome - OMG it’s a big american chain, it’s Costco, it must be better than our local shops).

So in the US, if you’ll excuse that rather broad and generic area, is Costco really the cheap option to shop at?

A lot of what they sell isn’t really that cheap. I think they do count on people not noticing this–they just assume that if it’s in bulk, it must be lower priced. I use it only for specific things, and there are many things I’d never buy there (such as certain produce items, that never even go down in price when they’re in season).

Cheaper on some stuff, has stuff you can’t find anywhere else and no more expensive than a local supermarket for the rest of the stuff. I go there maybe 3 times a year, using my mom’s card. Stock up on “specialty” stuff, like garlic-stuffed olives, beef jerky and pot-stickers/odd-ball frozen stuff.