Is fancy camping equipment worth the high price?

I love going into those outfitter stores, but the price of backpacks and such seems ridiculously inflated. As an engineer, I think I have some appreciation of the work that goes into them. But I really find it that hard to believe that, failing being on top of K2 in a freezing sandstorm, most of the ballyhooed features make things worth the high price. I submit you could go on a reasonable camping trip in mild to moderately bad weather using only stuff from Wal-Mart and that all these city-slicking daypacker yuppies are wasting their coin. I’d like to argue this. Or we could go marching up and down the square. Unless you’ve got something better to do?

IMHO this thread will be moved.