Is good stage acting more demanding than good movie acting?

Because it’s live and with movies you get to rest between takes. Also, aren’t movie actors usually “prettier” than stage actors?

…or not?

I Am Not A Professional Actor, but…

Often it’s hard for somebody to be both a good stage actor and a good movie actor. Some people act with their faces a lot, which makes them better suited for the relatively intimate medium of film. Others act with their whole bodies, so people in the back row of a packed theater can still understand what they’re feeling.

For a body person to do movie work can be really frustrating, since 90% of what they’re doing with their body can be cut off by the framing of the shot, and they’ve got to constantly remind themselves to “move it up.” Then there are face people who will find themselves exhausted after doing a stage production because they have to try so hard to act below the neck as well as above. In either of those situations, the fish out of water will probably tell you that the medium they’re uncomfortable with is much more difficult.

That said, there are some people who do both with ease.

I guess I think of it as running a marathon vs. a series of 100-yard dashes. There’s more flexibility in a stage performance, but you also have to be “on” for hours at a time. With film media, the challenge is more in keeping track of where in the storyline you are and how your character is feeling at that point: even if they’re shooting it out of order, you can’t be reacting out of order when they cut it all together. So that can take a bit more focus.

I much prefer doing stage work to film work. (Any other amateurs or pros that weigh in, which do you prefer?)

As to the second part of your question, I think pretty counts for less onstage, for the close-up reasons I mentioned earlier.