Is it necessary to warm up my car?

I’ve heard so many conflicing opinions.

I have a 2000 Acura Integra GSR.

I heard that there is no need to warm up a Japanese car buton the other hand, it’s crucial to warm up a domestic.

what’s the deal?

If by “warming up” you mean “going easy on the first couple of minutes of driving”: that goes for ALL cars.
And it’s not so much about temperature. It’s about oil. When your car sits in the driveway (not running), the oil in the engine and transmission logically flows to the lowest point (don’t ask me to name these parts, I’m not a mechanic). When you start her up in the morning, the oil takes a while to reach all parts of the engine. So, when it’s “cold”, you’re basically driving without oil. If you really floor it then, you’re possibly damaging the valves et cetera. If you wait (about 5 minutes of driving will do the trick), the oil is evenly spread, and the car can handle high revs much better.

Peppy, I agree with Coldfire, but would like to ask a follow-up question: how cold is it outside when you’re starting your car? If it’s really cold, then the other fluids (the steering fluid and the brake fluid) can also be pretty viscous, and that means your power steering and power brakes may not work very well until they get warmed up.

For example, the other day here it was -32° Celsius. I didn’t let it run long enough, and the first intersection I came to, the brakes were pretty sluggish - I slid into the intersection a bit. So, if it’s really cold, let it run for oh, five minutes, and be sure to pump the brakes a few times before you start out.

(I know that Click & Clack, as well as car manuals, say that you shouldn’t run the car as a warm-up, but that’s assuming reasonably warm temperatures, like in the -5 to +10 range.)